THE NEW website showcasing the history of the village of Dre-fach Felindre during the 20th century (www.storifawrdrefachfelindre. cymru) was formally launched at the Welsh National Woollen Museum in the village on Saturday (Oct 29).
Cllr Ken Howell, the Chair of the historical project committee, with the support of Lesley Parker of The Solutions Factory, Pontweli, Llandysul, displayed to a crowded audience examples of the website’s content and added that this was just the first phase in the process of recording the life of the village during the last century and up to present times.
He added: “This website contains up to a thousand old photographs which we have filed under different headings, along with other written material. The complete story of Neuadd y Ddraig Goch (the village hall) from the beginning is worth reading, as it shows the cultural and social events held in the village and the prominent individuals that were involved. The story of John y Gwas and many other leading local individuals is also fascinating.”
The project team will now look to add to the collection.
During the afternoon, an exhibition under the title ‘The Sporting History of the Village’ was opened at the museum by Ieuan Jones, Llandysul, and John Lewis, Cardigan, who were both members of the Bargod Rangers Football Team that won the Cardiganshire League title in the 1947-48 season. They were joined by Mrs Olive Campden, Vice Chair of the project committee.
Cllr Howell thanked The People’s Collection of the National Library of Wales and the National Woollen Museum at Dre-fach Felindre for their co-operation and support.
“To record the history of villages such as ours will be much appreciated by future generations. This is such an important day in the life of Dre-fach Felindre,” he concluded.